Logo Kubernetes Security Training

Kubernetes Security Fundamentals

Target group: Kubernetes administrators with good Linux knowledge
Make a request

Kubernetes has established itself in recent years as the standard framework for the infrastructure underlying SaaS (Software as a Service) products. Almost all companies make Kubernetes clusters available to their developers as operating environments, whether in public or private clouds. One essential prerequisite for the secure operation of such SaaS products is a secure Kubernetes cluster. A Kubernetes cluster is, however, a complex system in which merely installing the latest security patches is not enough.

This training course examines the security aspects of the entire cluster lifecycle: from initial configuration and deployment through operations to dealing with newly discovered or published vulnerabilities (CVEs). The course will also discuss how deployment pipelines for SaaS products can be designed to prevent typical supply chain attacks.

Like all training courses offered by the inovex Academy, this course focuses on practical learning. During the course, participants will design and build their own secure Kubernetes cluster on which they will implement security monitoring and logging.

Target Audience:

Kubernetes administrators with good Linux knowledge. Prerequisite is either the Linux Foundation’s CKA certification, a certificate of participation in the LFS458 training course, or equivalent knowledge of the structure and function of Kubernetes clusters.

Agenda:

  • Introduction to cloud security concepts
    • Assessment
    • Prevention
    • Detection
    • Reaction
    • Attack surfaces and types
  • Secure cluster configuration
    • Image supply chains
    • Policy-based control
    • Runtime sandbox
  • Cluster installation
    • Updating Kubernetes
    • Kernel hardening
  • Securing kube-apiserver
    • Access restrictions
    • Role-based access control
    • Auditing
    • Protecting etcd 
  • Secure Networking
    • Netfilter management and implementation
    • Pod-to-pod encryption
    • Restricting cluster-level access 
  • Security and workloads
    • Analysing workloads
    • SELinux basics
    • Implementing AppArmor
  • Detecting and handling security incidents
    • Implementing intrusion detection systems
    • Best practices during an incident
    • Best practices following an incident
    • Threat detection
    • Behaviour analysis
Make a request „Kubernetes Security Fundamentals“ Training Description PDF, 66.01 kB

Your Trainer:

Bild von Timo Heinrichs

Timo Heinrichs

Cloud Platform Engineer Read More

Get in touch!

Collin Rogowski

Head of inovex Academy

Kubernetes Security Fundamentals

Zielgruppe: Kubernetes-Administrator:innen mit guten Linux-Kenntnissen
Anfrage stellen

Kubernetes hat sich in den letzten Jahren als Standard-Framework für die zugrunde liegende Infrastruktur von SaaS (Software as a Service) -Produkten etabliert. Nahezu alle Unternehmen stellen ihren Entwicklern Kubernetes Cluster als Betriebsumgebung, in einer eigenen oder einer Public Cloud, zur Verfügung. Eine notwendige Voraussetzung für den sicheren Betrieb solcher SaaS-Produkte ist ein sicherer Kubernetes Cluster. Ein Kubernetes Cluster ist aber ein komplexes System, bei dem es nicht ausreicht, immer nur die neuesten Security-Patches einzuspielen.

Dieses Training betrachtet die Security-Aspekte des gesamten Cluster Lifecycles: von initialer Konfiguration und Deployment, über Betrieb, bis hin zum Umgang mit neu entdeckten bzw. veröffentlichten Schwachstellen (CVEs). Zudem wird thematisiert, wie Deployment Pipelines für SaaS-Produkte designt werden können, um typische Supply-Chain-Angriffe zu verhindern.

Wie alle Trainings der inovex Academy wird auch in diesem Training ein Fokus auf Praktisches Lernen gelegt: Die Teilnehmer:innen designen und bauen im Laufe des Trainings einen eigenen, sicheren Kubernetes Cluster auf und implementieren dort Security Monitoring und Logging.

Zielgruppe:

Kubernetes-Administrator:innen mit guten Linux-Kenntnissen. Voraussetzung ist entweder die CKA-Zertifizierung der Linux Foundation, eine Teilnahmebescheinigung des LFS458-Trainings oder dazu äquivalente Kenntnisse über Aufbau und Funktion von Kubernetes Clustern.

Agenda:

  • Einführung in Cloud-Security-Konzepte
    • Assessment
    • Prevention
    • Detection
    • Reaction
    • Angriffsflächen und -typen
  • Sichere Cluster-Konfiguration
    • Image Supply Chains
    • Policy-based Control
    •  Runtime Sandbox
  • Cluster-Installation
    • Updating Kubernetes
    • Kernel Hardening
  • Absicherung von kube-apiserver
    • Access Restrictions
    • Role-Based Access Control
    • Auditing
    • etcd schützen
  • Secure Networking
    • Netfilter-Management und -Implementierung
    • Pod-to-Pod-Verschlüsselung
    • Cluster Level Access beschränken
  • Security und Workload
    • Workloads analysieren
    • SELinux-Grundlagen
    • AppArmor einsetzen
  • Security Incidents erkennen und behandeln
    • Einführung Intrusion Detection Systems
    • Best Practices während des Vorfalls
    • Best Practices nach dem Vorfall
    • Threat Detection
    • Verhaltensanalyse
Anfrage stellen „Kubernetes Security Fundamentals“ Trainingsbeschreibung PDF, 61.47 kB

Ihr Trainer:

Bild von Timo Heinrichs

Timo Heinrichs

Cloud Platform Engineer Mehr Lesen

Wie können wir Sie unterstützen?

Collin Rogowski

Head of inovex Academy